Alia Bhatt, Hrithik Roshan On Oscars Academy List Of 819 New Members

Alia Bhatt (L), Hrithik Roshan (R). (courtesy aliaabhatt )


  • The Academy points a single spherical of invites yearly
  • Solely Academy members can vote for Oscar winners
  • The brand new membership targets goal to spice up variety

New Delhi:

Bollywood actors Alia Bhatt and Hrithik Roshan are among the many new listing of invitees to the Academy of Movement Image Arts and Sciences, which is 36% folks of coloration and 45% girls. On Wednesday, the official Twitter deal with of the Academy shared the listing of the invitees together with a caption that learn, “Say good day to our model new class of Academy members.” Apart from Alia and Hrithik, documentary filmmakers Nishtha Jain and Amit Madheshiya, designer Neeta Lulla, casting director Nandini Shrikent, visible results supervisors Vishal Anand and Sandeep Kamal have obtained invites from the Academy.

The listing acknowledged Alia Bhatt for her performances within the movies Gully Boy ( which was India’s official entry for the 2020 Oscars) and Raazi, whereas Tremendous 30 and Jodhaa Akbar have been listed as Hrithik Roshan’s distinguished works. Neeta Lulla’s work in Jodhaa Akbar and Devdas additionally fetched her an invitation.

Here is the total listing of invitees:

The brand new membership targets goal to spice up variety amongst Oscars nominees. The Academy has now surpassed its membership targets, with 45 % of this yr’s consumption girls, and 36 % shall be represented by minorities. “Now we have all the time embraced extraordinary expertise that displays the wealthy number of our international movie group, and by no means extra so than now,” stated Academy President David Rubin.

“The Academy of Movement Image Arts and Sciences is extending invites to hitch the group to 819 artists and executives who’ve distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical movement photos. The 2020 class is 45% girls, 36% underrepresented ethnic/racial communities, and 49% worldwide from 68 international locations,” learn an excerpt from the assertion.

The listing of invitees additionally consists of The Farewell actress Awkwafina, who was snubbed on the Oscars this yr, Eva Longoria, Joker star Zazie Beetz and to-be Bond woman Ana de Armas. Disney little one star Zendaya (for Spider-Man: Removed from Residence) and Constance Wu, best-known for her performances in Hustlers and Loopy Wealthy Asians additionally obtained invites this yr.

(With inputs from AFP)